The Hating Game by Sally Thorne

hating gameI’m due for some contemporary after all the feels from my previous review. I thought I was in for some lighthearted fun. But The Hating Game was anything but lighthearted. The raves about this book is definitely well deserved. This is a story of Lucinda (I love that name) and her feelings for Joshua, her co-worker. Sounds simple right? Pretty straight forward? No, it’s not. This book is a perfect example of how a contemporary romance should be written. Engaging and lovable main characters? Check. Wonderfully written dialogue? Check. A simple yet interesting plot? Check. This book has me smiling in the first few pages.

As the police drag me out in handcuffs I’ll be screeching, Smile, goddamn you.

The hate to love trope will always be my number one fave out of all the tropes there is. There’s something about two people overcoming their initial prejudice about someone that is just so entertaining and I will never get enough of it! Never!

15 chapters in, I made a note in my ebook copy which states, “this book is the most immature yet mature piece of new adult fiction I’ve read.” The main characters were both very honest yet playful in their admittance of their feelings. This book is writing goals and relationship goals rolled into one tightly knit, extremely funny piece of work. I loved every minute spent with Lucy and Josh.

Leave a comment